Current affairs
Federal shutdown duration
2025 shutdown · United States
National context: length of the federal funding gap shown in the report.
The Beehive State, in perspective
Eleven years of Utah Informed, brought together.
Follow the trends, compare the years, and see the
evidence behind the numbers.

Highlights from the 2026 edition. Measurement dates are shown on each card.
2025 shutdown · United States
National context: length of the federal funding gap shown in the report.
2023 · Utah
Median household income, adjusted for regional price parity.
Federal FY2024 · Utah
Share of SNAP benefits overpaid or underpaid; a measure of administrative accuracy.
September 2025 · Utah
All home sales, in nominal dollars.
2025 estimate · Utah’s Mighty 5
Recreation visits to Utah’s five national parks; not unique visitors.
2024 · Utah
Solar’s share of net electricity generated in Utah, as rounded in the source.
2025 · Utah
Share of Utah’s total population enrolled in ACA marketplace coverage.
2025 · Utah
All third-grade students scoring above benchmark on the end-of-year Acadience exam.
2025 projection · Utah
The starting population in the report’s 2025–2065 projection series.
2026 report edition · A report year is not a data year. Measures and sections vary by edition; forecasts and estimates are labeled.
Date not specified · Utah
Share of state exports going to China, excluding gold. The source page does not state a measurement year.
2014 · Utah
Median household income reported by the U.S. Census Bureau.
2016 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2016 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2014 · Utah
Total visitor spending; source displays $7,805 million.
Date not specified · Utah
Land held by the five federal agencies covered in the source. Other agencies are excluded.
2016 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2016 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2014 · Salt Lake City
City population, rather than the metropolitan area or all of Utah.
2016 · United States
National context: portion of U.S. adults who get news on Facebook.
2016 estimate · Utah
Nonstore retailers as a share of Utah retail sales; the report marks 2016 as estimated.
2017 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2016 · Utah
Permit-authorized nonresidential construction, in constant 2016 dollars; rounded in the report headline.
2017 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2017 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2017 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2016 · Utah
Statewide four-year graduation rate, as stated in the source note.
2016 · Utah
Population reported by the Utah Population Committee.
2018 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2018 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2018 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2018 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2018 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2018 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2018 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2017 · Utah
Graduation rate for all students, as labeled in the chart.
2015–2065 projection · Utah
Cumulative statewide growth over 50 years in the 2017 projection vintage; not annual growth.
2019 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2019 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2017 · Utah
State government employment per 1,000 population, excluding higher education.
2017 · Utah
Median owner-occupied home value divided by median household income. This is a ratio, not a sales price.
2019 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2019 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2016 · Utah
Share of the population aged 65 and younger without health insurance, as defined on the source page.
2019 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2019 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2020 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2020 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2019 · Utah
Education Fund, General Fund, and Medicaid budget reserves.
Q3 2019 · Salt Lake City metro
Single-family existing-home median price; the geographic scope is the metropolitan area.
2018 · Utah
Domestic and international visitor spending in 2018 dollars; domestic visitors include Utah residents.
2015 · Utah
State land held by the five major federal landholding agencies covered in the report.
2020 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2020 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2020 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2021 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2020 · Utah
Number of jobs per 100 people. This is not the employment rate of working-age adults.
2021 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2021 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2021 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
Jan–Sep 2020 · Utah
Share of electricity generation from solar; the source covers data through September.
2021 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2021 report edition
This edition does not have a separate section under this heading. Related material may appear elsewhere in the report.
2019 · Utah
Residents who lived in one of the eleven states highlighted on the source map one year earlier; 61% of new residents.
2022 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2022 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
FY2020 · Utah
State and local monthly water-use charges directly tied to use; wholesale sales are excluded.
2022 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2020 · Utah
International visitors’ share of visitor spending during the pandemic.
2020 · Utah
Solar share of the electricity generation mix shown in the report.
December 3, 2021 · Utah
Share of the total population vaccinated with at least one dose on the stated date.
2019 · Utah
Median annual income for the bachelor’s-degree group in the report’s ACS five-year estimates.
April 1, 2020 · Utah
Resident population from the 2020 Census apportionment data.
2022 · Utah
Net migration as a share of annual population change; the remainder is natural increase.
2023 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2023 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2023 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2021–2022 ski season · Utah
Skier days as rounded in the report; not unique skiers.
2023 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2021 · Utah
Age-adjusted uninsured rate for Hispanic/Latino adults; not the statewide rate.
2019 · Utah
Median annual earnings for individuals age 25+ with a bachelor’s degree. The report cites ACS one-year estimates.
2021–2022 · Utah County
Utah County’s contribution to total state population growth, not the county’s own growth rate.
2023 · Utah
Point-in-time count. The source notes that 2021 is not comparable because of pandemic data inconsistencies.
June 2023 · Utah
Monthly year-over-year employment growth, as annotated in the chart.
2023 · Utah
Historical state-imposed rate shown in this edition; local taxes are separate. This does not describe today’s tax law.
Q2 2023 · Utah
Share of existing mortgages with an interest rate at or below 4%.
2024 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2024 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2022 · Utah
Total uninsured rate across household poverty levels in the source’s ACS one-year estimates.
2022–2023 school year · Utah
Students absent for more than 10% of enrolled days.
2022 · Utah
Combined racial and ethnic minority share, using the report’s categories.
2024 · Delta Center, Utah
Up to 16,000 seats for NHL events, including obstructed views; roughly 10,000 are unobstructed.
August 2024 · Utah
Medicaid enrollment as a share of the total state population.
FY2023 · Utah
51 cities and eight counties imposing the zoo, arts, and parks tax.
2025 report edition
Original page preview. Open the source for measurement dates, units, and notes.
2023–2024 ski season · Utah
Utah origin share in the skier/snowboarder origin breakdown.
Jan–Sep 2024 · Utah
Electric vehicles as a share of vehicle sales; the source period ends in September.
2023–2024 school year · Utah
Share of kindergartners with any vaccine exemption.
2023–2024 school year · Utah
Share of kindergarten classes that are full-day or extended-day; not a headcount of students.
2023 · Utah
Share of out-of-state migrants arriving in Utah who were born in Utah.
2025 shutdown · United States
National context: length of the federal funding gap shown in the report.
2023 · Utah
Median household income, adjusted for regional price parity.
Federal FY2024 · Utah
Share of SNAP benefits overpaid or underpaid; a measure of administrative accuracy.
September 2025 · Utah
All home sales, in nominal dollars.
2025 estimate · Utah’s Mighty 5
Recreation visits to Utah’s five national parks; not unique visitors.
2024 · Utah
Solar’s share of net electricity generated in Utah, as rounded in the source.
2025 · Utah
Share of Utah’s total population enrolled in ACA marketplace coverage.
2025 · Utah
All third-grade students scoring above benchmark on the end-of-year Acadience exam.
2025 projection · Utah
The starting population in the report’s 2025–2065 projection series.
Nominal dollars · last available month in each year · 2016–2024
Millions of national park visits · 2016–2025 · 2025 estimated
People added each year · historical data only · 2016–2023
Choose a measure, set a time window, and trace the trend back to its source.
Compare the same measure across two data years. Missing years stay missing.
Changes in rates use percentage points (pp). Other measures use percentage change. Monthly indicators use the last available month of each chosen year; dates are shown. Movement alone is not a verdict on economic health.
Search every page across all 11 editions—not just the selected indicators.
These are curated visual reports, not a single standardized economic database.
All 932 pages are indexed. Every indicator links to the PDF edition and exact page, with a preview and extracted text.
Printed numbers are labeled “Published value.” Unlabeled curves are calibrated to chart axes, rounded, and marked “Chart estimate.” They are not original statistical microdata.
Measurement dates, fiscal years, dollar bases, estimates, and projections stay visible. No interpolated missing years or invented overall health score.
Data years covered by the reviewed chart adapters. A blank cell means no extracted value, not zero.
The source collection contains 11 editions published from 2016 to 2026. Reports often show earlier observations, selective topics, and revised histories. The explorer preserves each selected series from one chart vintage instead of silently splicing incompatible definitions. A newer report can therefore supply earlier-year observations.
Annual views of monthly series use the last available month in that year. Year-over-year mode compares the same month for monthly detail, or the same month in adjacent annual snapshots; mismatched months remain unavailable. Rates use percentage-point differences. Indexed mode sets the first positive observation to 100; it is unavailable for rates and nonpositive series.
Time-series projections are off by default. Any snapshot projections are labeled separately. The population chart in the 2026 edition marks 2024 onward as projected, so those observations retain that status. Published 2025 estimates and partial-year observations remain identified. There are no full-year observed 2026 values in the curated series.
When a chart has no printed values, its lines and bars are measured against the chart’s axes. These chart estimates are rounded and reviewed against printed labels where available. Pages without reviewed values stay searchable in the library but do not become plotted indicators.
The snapshot year selector chooses a report edition, not a measurement year. Reviewed printed values retain their original dates and definitions. Where a numeric highlight has not been reviewed, a source-chart preview is shown instead of a guessed value. An absent dedicated section is labeled explicitly. Historical snapshots are not a like-for-like time series; use Explore trends for consistent indicator definitions. Snapshot projections are explicitly labeled. Library sections follow printed page footers. Earlier labels are grouped into the current sections: Global and National under Current affairs; Jobs, Income, Sales and Prices, International Trade, Economic Development, and Recession Watch under Utah economy; Fiscal under Public finance; Resources under Energy and environment; People under Demographics. The original printed section remains visible in source previews.
Design: an editorial layout inspired by ProPublica, with a Utah palette and original Utah-outline mark informed by Utah flag symbolism. This tool is not an official state or Gardner Institute product.